top of page
Search
Nicole @ Woody's

Is Your Dog Lazy?


Fina and I enjoying our walk

I don't know about you, but it's April and I know I need to get my butt in shape for the summer. But what about your dog? Yep, he needs to get whipped into shape too! As for us humans, it is quite easy to go from fit to flab over the holidays, and add that cold weather......well, Brrrrrrr. I just want to stay inside and snuggle with my pooch under the blankets, which leaves me little time for motivation. Ahhhhh, we can watch "My Dog, Skip" and "Lassie" and we can eat popcorn and never answer the phone or check our emails, because we're being lazy together.......

Okay, okay, enough of the daydreaming, it is very important for us AND our dogs to stay healthy and physical. If WE don't, we know what it does to our bodies. Do you know how a dog's body responds to being lazy? Well, I'll tell ya; Lack of exercise can lead to weight problems, digestive issues and destructive, attention-getting behavior.

An unmotivated dog needs attention. Hmmmm, I wonder if that is why my dog keeps chewing my shoes???? Anyway, a brisk walk for 30 minutes a day will benefit you and your dog's health. Keep in mind your dog's age and breed. Older dogs may have arthritis, so a slower 10-15 minute walk may be more sufficient. Bulldogs or pugs have flatter faces which makes breathing a bit more difficult, especially in warmer weather, so shorter walks are best. Whatever your breed of dog, it is important to get some sort of daily exercise.

Mental laziness is a No-No too! Stimulate your dog's mental laziness with an interactive puzzle toy and hide-and-seek. There are also plenty of chew toys where treats are inside that will keep your dog busy and entertained. Obedience training is also a great way to stimulate your dog's mind.

However you decide to make being lazy a thing of the past for you and your dog, will be a great first step in the right, healthy direction!

29 views0 comments
bottom of page